Bring Back Grand Mom’s Cast-Iron Cookware

I am a strong advocate for cast-iron cookware and here is why you should too!

Vinita Samuel
ILLUMINATION
4 min readFeb 4, 2023

--

Photo by Anshu A on Unsplash

My grandmom swore by it. My mom religiously used it. I never even owned it, until recently! Wondering what I am talking about? It’s cast-iron cookware. Yes! You read it right; I want to bring to your attention the health benefits of cast-iron woks, pans, and skillets. I remember Grand Mom cooking yummy gravies in a cast iron wok, while Mom effortlessly flipped rice crepes on a cast-iron flat pan. Their cookware was well used, being there in the family for several years.

When I grew up and set up my home, I bought a dozen of non-stick cookware. I was under the impression that non-stick cookware was better than cast-iron in every way. After all, they were light, looked great, were easy to wash and required very less oil. Why would I use heavy cast-iron cookware that takes up space and needs frequent seasoning?

Well, recently I made a complete shift. I got rid of all my non-stick cookware after getting to know its harmful effects on me. I bought a new wok and skillet. I also gathered cast-iron cookware that my mom no longer used. She was happy to lend me a flat pan and a smaller wok. Once back home, I realized how easy it was to use cast iron. The woks and pans heated evening, retained heat for a longer time, and even made my favorite golden brown rice crepes with just a dash of oil!

Author's collection of cast-iron cookware

Cleaning them was a breeze. All I had to do was rinse and lightly scrub them and they were ready for the next dish. The only trouble was applying a thin layer of oil after use so that they would be non-stick when I decide to make my next oatmeal pancake.

Over time, I have used my cast-iron for multiple purposes, be it, grilling, broiling, braising, frying or poaching. Yes, it is versatile.

Today, I am a strong advocate for cast-iron cookware and here is why you should too!

No nasty chemicals: The chemicals used to make pans non-stick are toxic to us humans, as they creep into the food we cook. One particular nasty chemical is perfluorooctanoic acid or PFOA for short. This chemical has been deemed “carcinogenic” by World Health Organization’s International Agency for Research on Cancer. In newer non-stick pans, you may find polytetrafluoroethylene, or PTFE, which starts to give off fumes and decompose on high heat.

Increase in iron intake: Cooking with cast-iron cookware is a great way to give an iron boost to our bodies. It is a great way to get that much-needed iron, especially if you are anemic or a vegetarian. Research has shown that using cast iron regularly does impact the iron level in our bodies.

Healthier cooking: Seasoned cast-iron pans are naturally nonstick. So, you will end up using less oil when compared with a stainless-steel pan. The more you use your cast iron, the more seasoned it is going to become. This is a good excuse for you to use it often, for almost any type of cooking or food.

To sum up, if you have an iron deficiency, use your cast iron often. Not only will you have a better intake of iron, but it will also make your pans naturally non-stick. If you prefer cooking with less oil, then cast iron is perfect for you. Cast-iron cookware is also a sustainable option, as they last forever, can be used for multiple types of cooking, and are affordable. So, what are you waiting for? Bring out Grand Mom’s cast-iron wok, skillet, and pan from the attic!

Related reading:

Please do leave a comment or clap if you enjoyed reading this. Consider following me! It will mean the world to me. To get in touch with me, shoot me a mail at writetovinita@gmail.com. I would love to hear from you :)

--

--

Vinita Samuel
ILLUMINATION

I am here to entertain you with my writing :) For your ghostwriting needs mail me at writetovinita@gmail.com