Build Robust Cloud Architectures: Apply Military Design Principles to Cloud Applications

Miguel A. Calles · Serverless CISO
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readMay 12, 2023

--

Photo by Piotr Guzik on Unsplash

The Amazon Prime video team has shocked the serverless and microservices worlds. Their blog post stated moving “from a distributed microservices architecture to a monolith application helped achieve higher scale, resilience, and reduce costs.”

Moving our service to a monolith reduced our infrastructure cost by over 90%. It also increased our scaling capabilities. Today, we’re able to handle thousands of streams and we still have capacity to scale the service even further.

I am a serverless enthusiast and choose to build serverless first. Yet, I am cautious about recommending microservice architectures because I learned they can be unnecessarily complicated. (They are great in some designs, though.) I used to work in military systems as a systems engineer for over a decade before working in AWS serverless. I have applied my military design systems experience to my cloud applications and found it helpful. I will share some of the top design principles I learned while working on military systems and cloud-based commercial applications.

Longevity and Useful Life

--

--

Miguel A. Calles · Serverless CISO
ILLUMINATION

Author of Mastering AWS Serverless · AWS Community Builder · Specializing in CMMC, SOC 2, serverless & engineering.