Build Your Self-Confidence in an Easy Yet Scientifically Proven Way

Anyone can do it; no prerequisite is necessary.

Ana Writes
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Andrey Zvyagintsev on Unsplash

As many people tend to do, I started my year with new goals and resolutions. I felt motivated and ecstatic. I gave myself an excellent pep talk. I felt ready to conquer the world.

I committed to putting my goals in writing. So as soon as my pen hit the paper, I felt the fear creeping in.

What if I am overambitious?

What if I can’t do it, and I will fail miserably?

What if that’s not what I really want?

What if …?

The list of what-ifs can go on forever. But instead of dwelling in my fear, I asked myself what was keeping me back. I realized I was lacking confidence in my abilities.

I have read countless self-improvement books before, many on the subject of building confidence. And although the positive psychology works for a while, in time, I begin to falter again.

To better understand what goes on behind building self-confidence, I decided to turn to science. I read some studies and stumbled upon the work Self-confidence and Leader Performance by George P. Hollenbeck and Douglas T. Hall.

--

--

Ana Writes
ILLUMINATION

Dedicated to continuous Self Improvement. I write about Money, Self-Improvement, Books, Family, and Life in general.