Poem

Can I hit your vape?

Isaiah Armendariz
ILLUMINATION
Published in
1 min readAug 19, 2023

--

It’s been over a month since I bummed a vape.
Without context I’m certain plenty would say “that’s great”.

But I don’t feel anything like a clean slate, because when the thought floats by I still miss it.

Asking for a puff, waiting to see sleep-coated eyes watching me.

Lips parted to join the ritual I wait.
To live breathe and be studied by you, my best course of fate.

It was never enough though……
Throwing away all morals for someone I lifted up like a king.

In the heat of those moments you could’ve done anything to me.
Hands around my throat I’d even stay silent until breath itself left me.

I’m certain he knew this.

Thrown on the floor at someone else mercy, but ignored like a flea.

Until time passed and I could cop another smoke.

The only drug I’ll ever need, to be studied so intimately.

“Can I hit your vape please?”

Thank you for reading ! Below is a different piece I recommend (it’s in a similar vein to this one !)

--

--

Isaiah Armendariz
ILLUMINATION

Reading was the first love, and writing my second, thoughts become things so I decided to store them...... Instagram: @forreal_isaiah