I Tried Using This to Make Consistency Become More Easier and Attractive

Reprogram brain to enjoy difficult habit

Ulfa
ILLUMINATION
3 min readMay 17, 2024

--

Photo by Leohoho on Unsplash

In the long run, we actually become a product of the environment we live in. It’s human nature to prefer something that familiar and comfortable, as it requires less energy and cognitive effort.

So, when it comes to something unfamiliar, it’s hard for us to face because it’s uncomfortable, like a building new habit or tackling new challenges.

Fortunately, we can do any hardship just easier, much like tapping the smallest domino chunk to set off the falling of the biggest one. This same principle applies to overcoming the big essential task.

Use connectedness of behavior to your advantage

It’s human nature that we live on continuous cycles. No behavior happens in isolation.

I mean, one action becomes a cue that triggers the next behavior.

So, to build a new habit, identify a current habit you already do each day and then stack your new behavior on top. It’s called habit stacking.

The formula of habit stacking:

“After [CURRENT HABIT], I will [NEW HABIT].”

“After I pour my cup of coffee each morning, I will do my writing for 45 minutes.”

“After I take off my work shoes, I will immediately change into my workout clothes.”

The key is to tie your desired behavior to something you already do each day. This allows you to take advantage of the natural momentum that comes from one behavior leading into the next.

It’s made easier for you to increase the likelihood because you’ll still stick to the behavior of an old one. It’s the process that you’ll become really familiar.

Using dopamine to make hard things more attractive

To build a new habit, we not only have to make it easier but also need to make it more attractive, by associating it with dopamine. When dopamine rises, so does our motivation to act.

Want to exercise more? Choose a cue, such as going to the gym as soon as you wake up, and a reward, such as a smoothie after each workout. Then think about that smoothie.

Imagine the vibrant burst of flavors in a creamy, refreshing smoothie. Picture the velvety smoothness of ripe bananas with the tangy zest of juicy berries, or the satisfying crunch of granola over a silky swirl of Greek yogurt.

Allow yourself to anticipate the reward. Eventually, that craving will make it easier to push through the gym doors every day.

Cravings are the motivational force behind every habit. Without some level of motivation or desire — without craving a change — we have no reason to act.

Temptation bundling

Temptation bundling is one more way to make your habits more attractive. The strategy is to pair an action you want to do with an action you need to do.

You’re more likely to find a behavior attractive if you get to do one of your favorite things at the same time.

The formula for temptation bundling:

“After [CURRENT HABIT], I will [HABIT I NEED] + After [HABIT I NEED], I will [HABIT I WANT].”

“After I get my morning coffee, I will say one thing I’m grateful for that happened yesterday (need).

“After I get back from my lunch break, I will call three potential clients (need).

You can make hard habits more attractive if you can learn to associate them with a positive experience.

And these are the things that can reprogram your brain to enjoy the hard things.

Reframing the way you think about hard habits to highlight their benefits rather than their drawbacks. This is a fast and lightweight way to reprogram your mind and make a habit seem more attractive.

Making a slight shift in what we focus on, from what is difficult to what is easier. Because hard things often lead to giving up due to the struggle, but when things are perceived as easy, they can make tough times easier.

--

--

Ulfa
ILLUMINATION

One who still trying to figure life out and loves sharing the story of my everyday life.