Tranquility comes in the strangest of shapes sometimes.

Ceiling Fan, So Profound: A Song

I am terrified of being vulnerable. I am sharing this anyway.

Lori Brown, Writer
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readAug 12, 2020

--

Photo by Jordan Whitfield on Unsplash

This was first a silly poem. I published in the ever-growing Illumination pub on a day when I had a long list of tedious house chores to attend to.

The words are a symbolic expression of the things that I have personally overcome and obstacles that all people can understand.

By attempting to dust a ceiling fan while being mindful, I found myself enchanted by the beauty of the task. The whole world seemed to sing to me in those moments.

Then it became a song. I used a music program that I LOVE called Garage Band on my iPad and my voice filtered through a few neat tools to give it a surreal-robot-angel quality was the icing on the cake.

I suppose I should also confess that I have been listening to it repeatedly for several days and even with all the flaws and pitchy problems… I am moved to tears each time I…

--

--

Lori Brown, Writer
ILLUMINATION

I'm a mom, a wife, and a playful storyteller. Voted Top Blockchain Voice on Linkedin, and voted Best Human Ever by my two dogs. #RuffLife.