Follow for more!

Chemistry Facts: How the Brain Manipulates Reality

We are like “manufacturer-locked” smartphones

Cristiano Luchini
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readJun 19, 2024

--

Chemistry Facts: How the Brain Manipulates Reality -AI Image by Author (Bing).

While perusing neuroscience writings on the internet, I happened upon a set of captivating revelations that drastically reshaped my grasp of time’s fundamental character. I did not come across any specific individual researcher. Still, instead, the cumulative insights from these investigations unveiled how my very own brain can wield influence over my personal, subjective experience of the progression of temporal passage.

It all began when I read about a neurotransmitter called acetylcholine and its fundamental role in shaping our experience of time. According to the studies, acetylcholine facilitates encoding our experiences into short-term memory during wakefulness, capturing the fragments of my lived reality as they stream through my consciousness, activating specific neural circuits in the hippocampus and prefrontal cortex.

Levels

However, it was acetylcholine’s role during sleep that truly captured my attention. It acts in areas of the brain such as the hippocampus and prefrontal cortex. When levels of acetylcholine decrease during the slow-wave stage of NREM sleep, my brain enters a state of reduced neural activity characterized by slow…

--

--

Cristiano Luchini
ILLUMINATION

Creative, unconventional and interdisciplinary approach to knowledge. Vedanta Learner. cosmicdancerpodcast@gmail.com