Cleaning during Quarantine and How It Brought Me Joy

Paul Seo
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readAug 3, 2020

“To put your things in order mean to put your past in order too.” — Marie Kondo

I wish my room looked like this… (Photo courtesy of Christopher Jolly on Unsplash)

Like many others, I have been stuck at home during quarantine. This meant I would be spending far more time in my room than ever before. It had now become my office, backdrop for my video conferences, etc.

The problem though was I had not changed or redecorated it in nearly 10 years. A variety of reasons (excuses) like expectations for a quick work relocation and going away for college led me to just be fine with whatever was around me. It was never a mess, but it sure as heck did not showcase my personality well.

Photo courtesy of Crystal de Passille-Chabot on Unsplash

I challenged myself to now create a space I was proud of. First, I started by cleaning my closet, the island of misfit toys. Essentially, it served as a graveyard for random things from years past. Everything was taken out, organized or thrown away, and put back. A couple of days and approximately four full garbage bags later, it was virtually unrecognizable because there was actually leftover space. The next big project to tackle was my shoes. Over the years, I unknowingly accumulated a sizable collection of basketball kicks, sneakers, casual shoes, dress shoes, sandals, etc living in their respective boxes under my bed. I went on Amazon and ordered a few under-bed shoe organizers and it made a world of difference. I did an assortment of other smaller things like installing new blinds for my windows, setting up a smart lamp, hanging up a cork/marker board for memos, etc.

Photo courtesy of Roland Zilvinskis on Unsplash

Now for the fun part, I removed old posters and dated flags from my walls. I commissioned a friend, who creates calligraphy, for two custom prints of meaningful quotes. I also got a print of Michael Jordan and another of the Back to the Future’s Nike Air Mags off Etsy with tasteful neon accents. I pulled an “adulting” play of carefully placing them in picture frames and hanging them up in my bedroom. It felt like a new place; it felt like a home.

After all was said and done, I took a deep breath and surveyed my work. Amazingly, by improving my physical space, it also cleared up my mental space. I knew there was a lesson to be learned. Surround myself with good vibes to allow that positivity to influence my mindset. This is true not just for an actual place, but people I associate with and the cultures I partake in.

Here is my invitation to you: take a step back, examine what brings you joy, and gravitate to that. It will be worth it. Trust me.

--

--

Paul Seo
ILLUMINATION

“The best is yet to come.” ✞ | I sell alcohol for a living 🍷 | Slightly above average basketball player 🏀 | Loyal Irish fan 🍀 | Based in NY 🗽| IG: @seopaul