I Feel Closed In

A Poem

iWriteTee
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Misael Covarrubias on Unsplash

Four walls
Two windows

Room
Stuff
Stuffed
Stuffy

I feel closed in

What do you do if you need a mental health break while you’re on a mental health break?

I feel closed in

Too hot one minute
Too cold the next

I feel closed in

Soar throat
Writing notes

I feel closed in

Blankets and sheets just won’t cooperate
Chatting with friends and family won’t fill the void or satiate

Cups of hot tea
Panera delivery

I feel closed in

Quarantine blues
Wait a minute, where are my shoes

I feel closed in

My body aches from inactivity
My heart aches — feel hollow and empty

I feel closed in

Blinds down
Flecks of sun shine through

Oh what’s a girl to do when she

Feels closed in

I guess- I’ll go back to sleep

Again…

--

--

iWriteTee
ILLUMINATION

Top Writer, freelancer, matriarch, educator & development consultant with bylines in Creators Hub, Better Marketing, Zora, Momentum, An Injustice!, etc.