Close Your Eyes And Think, “Library.” What Do You See?

A thought experiment for library lovers.

Aric D. Mayer
Curated Newsletters

--

Photo by Kyle Glenn on Unsplash
Photo by REVOLT on Unsplash

Does the photo above match the library that comes to mind? What did you see in your mind?

Each of us will make some unique association with that jumble of letters. It could be a static image, like a photograph. Or maybe a sense memory with depth of dimension. Some of you might see a librarian, or a treasured book.

Hopefully something meaningful comes to mind for you. Lots and lots comes to mind for me!

When I think of the library, the term is a signifier of absolute possibility. It conjures feelings in my body, far more visceral than just a static memory of any specific place that houses books.

I love to browse, peruse, and hunt for treasures in a library. Just walking through the door invigorates me. The experience is dependable and satisfying. And I really miss it.

I’m thankful to the many institutions that have made digital collections available for borrowing during COVID-19. There are so many ways to browse online, to access material, and then read and learn a thing or two.

--

--

Aric D. Mayer
Curated Newsletters

Word wrangler. Rhetorician. Meditator. Runner. Nurse Practitioner. I make fresh sentences every day. Maybe you’ve read one?