ILLUMINATION SPECIAL PROJECTS

Collective Nouns Project

Will you join me in promoting the myriad collective nouns in the English language?

Karen Madej
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readAug 25, 2020

--

This project, for me, is about humans and how we interact with nature in all her glory. For me, a big part is appreciating the beauty of my surroundings and the work put in by two types of pollinators.

There are many different types of insects that ensure the male pollen is transferred to the female of the same type of flower. These animals and insects fertilize and ensure flowers produce seeds to enable a future generation of plants.

The conservation of butterflies and bees (and other pollinators) should be a top priority for humans if we are to eat well in the future.

I’d love for you to help me promote collective nouns and whatever angle you chose to illuminate them. They could be so much fun and many are not well known.

I’m pretty certain you’ll be able to find a collective noun or ten that will prompt some ideas to write a story, poem, fiction or non-fiction. Here’s a list to help you.

--

--