College is a SCAM, No Nuance.

Megs
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readAug 3, 2024
Photo by Igor Omilaev on Unsplash

College prices are absolutely insane.

Scholarships or not, you’re going to pay out the behind for whatever extra hidden charges they’re going to throw your way.

It isn’t just tuition and housing they’re scamming people on!

Anybody who’s taken classes at any college ever may already know what I’m about to complain about…

Textbooks.

They’ll gladly charge you ten times or MORE the amount that they’re worth. They force you into buying THEIR version, even if you can easily get it, or the one below it for way less. And nowadays? They’re switching almost entirely to ebooks, to make SURE that you spend money and keep income flowing for them, rather than buying used books for cheap or literally any other option.

Despite all the y’know… government funding and tuition, you’re paying.

No sales, no discounts, just insane markups and spending almost as much on books as you do for a whole class.

Would you believe I spent $25 to rent… a beat-up old literature book that literally said $3.00 on its used sticker they couldn’t even be bothered to peel off? Multiple times.

Do they think we’re stupid?

We must be, because we keep doing it.

And recently, my college has started this “online delivery service!” That was supposed to collect all my books for me all neat and easy, but it just made my life infinitely harder. Most of my stuff wasn’t included that I needed, it overcharged me, and there was NO WAY to opt out originally.

You can nowadays, but the problem is that apparently, they’re moving almost entirely to e-books, so if you opt-out? You’re done for.

College is such a scam.

All of these things still don’t pay for a lot of the overall bad experiences either, such as the lack of actual education and materials. You’ll just regularly pay far more than you get out of college, especially with a bad instructor.

Last year I had kids begging me for help because our instructor was worthless. We all just taught ourselves, and that isn’t uncommon at this point.

But guess what? You still need to go.

And do you know how else it’s a scam?

Repeating high school courses. Repeating everything you probably just heard. For two years? That’s around $10,000 if I’m calling it cheap. You better get a scholarship, because if not? Dead.

Who knows how many more years of this there are!

It’s ridiculous, it’s a scam, and yet I persist. Sheesh.

I’m so glad I’ve been able to get grants and scholarships, because if not? I can’t imagine me going, and definitely not most of the other people in this town, or most towns whatsoever.

It’s a big, fat, lousy, no-good scam. The one I keep falling for on purpose.

--

--