Color Away Your Stress With Adult Coloring Books

Practice Color Theory or Simply Color to Relax

Catrina Cowart
ILLUMINATION

--

Mandala coloring book by Catrina Cowart
28 Days of Mandalas Adult Coloring Book

I am not much of a “colorist.” Although I have a degree in Children’s Book Illustration, my degree itself doesn’t mean that I -love- coloring. In fact, my preference is to make line art — working with pen and ink (digital or traditional) is a skill I have loved honing over time.

That’s why I’m so interested in adult coloring books. I knew that coloring books were wonderful for learning about color theory and understanding color patterns, but what I didn’t think about was how relaxing it is to color.

There are all kinds of benefits to coloring:

  1. Coloring, as a form of meditation, helps to reduce stress and anxiety. The repetitive and calming nature of coloring can help to clear the mind and promote relaxation. When coloring, people often focus on the present moment, allowing them to experience a sense of calm and peace.
  2. Coloring can stimulate the release of endorphins, which are natural chemicals in the body that promote feelings of pleasure and happiness.
  3. Coloring can improve fine motor skills and hand-eye coordination (specifically bilateral coordination).

--

--

Catrina Cowart
ILLUMINATION

A professional writer and illustrator with over a decade of experience, a published book series, and interesting work-from-home experience.