WRITING

Commonly Misspelled Words I’ll Likely Get Wrong Forever

And no…it’s not their, they’re, or there

Christina M. Ward
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readFeb 4, 2023

--

Photo by Asa Rodger on Unsplash

We all have them. Our commonly misspelled words. Our word nemeses. Nemesis? Nem..me..seees?

You know, those dang words we think we will never, ever learn to spell correctly?

I’ll share mine…if you share yours in the comments. Let’s go.

1. Niece or Neice?

This one trips me up every time.

I before e except after c…I before e except after c…

Photo by Jason Leung on Unsplash

2. Definitely or Definately?

Thanks, spellcheck for saving my arse on this one every time.

3. Acknowledgement or Acknowledgment?

I have to double-check this one in every manuscript I edit. With or without the blasted “e” in the middle?

Photo by Clarissa Watson on Unsplash

4. Collectable or Collectible?

--

--

Christina M. Ward
ILLUMINATION

✨WEBSITE: https://fiddleheadsnfloss.com/ ➡️ Bylines: LA Weekly | OK! Mag | Village Voice | Men's Journal | Vegamour | THS 📖Books available on Amazon