HEALTH | PLANT-BASED DIET| HUMOR | SELF-COMPASSION

Confessions of a Failed Vegan

Despite the desire to embrace a plant-based diet, my body rebelled.

Lilliana Méndez-Soto, Pharm.D.
ILLUMINATION
Published in
9 min readMay 26, 2024

--

Photo of home garden harvest of five kinds of tomatoes, bell peppers, green and yellow zucchini, butter nut squash and cucumbers with a scale in background to weight the produce.
One Harvest Photo from 2018. Photo by the Author

Not a member yet? Read for free here !

The first hint that I might one day be a vegan was when I was a baby sitting in my high chair. My mother was attempting to feed me meat.

I would chew and chew, then store the meat in the side of my mouth like a squirrel gathering nuts, ne’er to swallow till my mom got so frustrated she would put a napkin in front of my mouth and I’d spit it out.

Photo of squirrel with one side cheek puffed out with nuts.
Photo by alex lauzon on Unsplash

A waste of Mom’s time, and no calories in during that session. Maybe that’s why I wound up short. I was never a big eater. But my parents weren’t giants either.

The high chair story is one of the most infamous tales of my childhood eating peculiarities. Maybe I was trying to tell my mom to give me more fiber.

I was constantly constipated, so she’d plop down a small bowl of prune compote (or baby food) after dinner as my “dessert” and to try and get me to eat it so I would poop.

--

--

Lilliana Méndez-Soto, Pharm.D.
ILLUMINATION

Lilliana Méndez-Soto, Pharm.D. (she/her) is a Cuban-American writer who seeks to cultivate compassion and inspire empathy. YouTube: @lillianamendezsoto