Coronacation is Over

A Reflection

Shental Rohan
ILLUMINATION
6 min readJun 23, 2020

--

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Angel Joy tagged me to answer a series of questions about the lockdown about 2 weeks back and since I’ll be returning to school tomorrow (whey hey after 3 and a half months!) I figured now would be the perfect time to reflect on my time in quarantine since Malaysia is officially out of lockdown and is now in the recovery phase.

From @Alena Powell intro:

@Tim Maudlin is the first to challenge me to answer a series of questions about the ‘rona and how I am handling the pandemic lock down’. This is in response from @Keno Ogbo, who wrote 12 Questions to Make Sense of Your Lock down Moments.

  1. What have you missed the most during lockdown?

The thing I’ve missed the most is definitely seeing my friends and teachers every day and just going to school. They are such an integral part of my life and after having to meet everyone via Zoom and have lessons online for the past few months, I honestly don’t think that I will ever take a face-to-face moment for granted ever again! Seriously! You know how when people go out (or used to) and everyone’s always on their phones? Well, I think that’s really going to change when the world gets rolling again!

2. What’s the best thing about being in lockdown?

The free time! It’s amazing how much time you can have in a day while still sleeping in 8 hours and lockdown has really made me realise that. I’ve been able to spend a lot more time reading (one of my favourite things to do) and writing (another one of my favourite things to do). I’ve also really enjoyed spending time with my family, especially my sisters who have come back from university in England. Those competitive Scrabble and Monopoly nights are definite highlights and will always be.

3. What has been the worst thing about being in lockdown?

Probably being cooped up inside all the time with the same people- not that I don’t love my family! I love going out and doing things so just being inside was not the best feeling- glad it’s over! There were days I felt lethargic and unproductive from being in the same environment but I have emerged a person who is much more grateful for their lovely house among many other things so I guess that’s my silver lining.

4. Who would you have liked to host in your home during the lockdown and why?

I think my grandparents because we’re very close to them but obviously couldn’t visit them and had to speak on calls.

5. What have you discovered about yourself in lockdown?

My time at home has really led to an increase in self-reflection which I truly believe is one of the most important things for personal growth and development. This is going to sound very deep, brace yourself, but I feel like I have really connected with myself and I think I have managed to identify many areas of my life that need work on. Awareness is the first stage of improvement, isn’t it? I’ll go into this deeper some other time, but I have learned a lot about the person I am and my overall morals and principals during this time which I am very grateful for.

6. What did you eat (or drink) the most during the lockdown?

This might be the most difficult one since the range is so wide! I refuse to feel guilty or embarrassed though- I know you’ve been sitting in front of your laptop with a whole tub of ice cream too! I would say I’ve eaten a lot of cake and cookies since I’m a home-baker and have been testing lots of new recipes! I know, I know- that was a dangerous move. I’ve always just preferred drinking water, but my friend has been sending me delicious lemon and honey drinks which are so refreshing!

7. Apart from sleeping and working what activities did you undertake the most during the lockdown?

I have been writing and reading much more especially since the Coronavirus cancelled my exams leaving me schoolwork-less. I have also made time most days in a week to work on my fitness by doing a home workout or going for a run around the park. I even went to the gym a few days ago- woohoo they’re open! I love getting sweaty and feel super pumped after getting in a workout.

8. Will you come out of lockdown heavier or lighter?

I’ve been eating a lot but also working out regularly so not too sure where that leaves me…

9. What resource has helped you most during the lockdown?

Zoom, Skype, Google Meet (all your regular video chat platforms) have been the best thing ever. I’ve been able to carry on with school, hang out with friends, and catch up with family thanks to the brilliant thing they call the Internet. I honestly don’t know how people survived without it, and I am so appreciative that I am in an area with access to WiFi whilst so many are not able to have this luxury.

10. What is your top tip for other people in lockdown right now?

Spend time every day to do something you enjoy and reward yourself after a hard day of work- you deserve it. At the same time, don’t beat yourself up over a particularly lazy day which has been spent watching Netflix- remember that it’s only normal and happens to the best of us!

11. How has lockdown changed you?

The easiest question to answer- I’ve become a much more appreciative person. Whilst writing this, I’ve noticed a strong theme of gratitude in most of my answers and I’m really glad of this change in myself. Feeling blessed for every day where I get to wake up in a warm bed in a safe house and go downstairs to a table filled with food has given me a more positive outlook on life. I also feel a lot more secure about myself and my abilities which I am very proud of myself for achieving and knocking myself out of the filthy habit of over-competitiveness. The whole coronavirus situation has been terrible and my heart goes out to those who have been affected worst by it. I am so lucky that I did not face major consequences and was instead able to actually enjoy this time and work on bettering myself.

12. If you were to leave a ‘message in a bottle’ for the future, what would you say?

Life is unpredictable, and that’s that. Change is inevitable so be prepared that someday you might wake up in a totally different world than the one you went to sleep in. The most important thing that I have learned and want to leave with you would be to embrace every single day of your life and really live it. Do the things that scare you, the things that excite you and the things that will help you live your dream because you never truly know what’s going to happen.

All the pieces I have read have included an acronym so I have extended on the trend!

Cheerfulness always

Overcomes the worst of

Reality and speaking

Obligingly can result in

Nothing bad least of all

Antipathy.

Care for everyone

And

Think about

Investing your time

O n the things that matter and

Not the things that don’t

Thanks again to Angel Joy for this challenge- it was a lot of fun to write! I hope everyone is staying safe and lots of positivity to all! I’ve tagged some people below whose lockdown insights I would love to read- if you do take this on, tag me back so I can read it! Happy writing :)

Joel Mwakasege, Kathryn A. LeRoy, Ph.D., René Junge, Alison Schaffir, Henery X (long), Kevin Buddaeus, Timothy Key, Terry Mansfield, Tree Langdon ♾️, Joey Wakeman, Jessica Cote, Desiree Driesenaar, Donn Durante, Jean Carfantan, Jennifer Rosater, Noah Levy, Matt Lillywhite, Anthony M. Davis, Dipti Pande, Dr John Rose, John Cunningham, Joe Luca, Kathy Rees

--

--