Cotton Candy Moments

Priyanka Borwanker
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readAug 26, 2023
Photo by Kaylee Stepkoski on Unsplash

It was one fine evening when I was strolling on my terrace. A warm summer’s sunset with the sky filled with pastel clouds. Indeed, a beautiful sight. There was a soft lilting breeze that seemed to waltz around me, delicately playing with my hair. The birds took wing, returning to their homes as though afraid of the dark while the crickets and cicadas slowly emerged, making a buzz as they embraced the approaching gloom.

It was then that I heard a few strains of distant music. To me, distant music has a magical quality, and this was no different. I couldn’t decipher exactly what the tune was, as the wind scattered the desolate notes. What struck me the most, however, was that it induced hope within me and yet left me melancholy. It was as if the music made the moment intangible as if everything around me was so magnificent that I was scared that this beautiful moment would slip away and be reduced to just a fragment of my memory and become as wistfully insignificant as a glimmer of an old dream.

This was a “cotton candy” moment, a beautiful wispy moment that brought you pure joy while lingering only for a fraction of a second just like cotton candy which dissolves in your mouth so quickly that you have just a few blissful seconds to savor it, leaving only the delicate aftertaste of the delightful treat. I treasure these cotton candy moments and keep them close to my heart. These fleeting moments provide immense hope — they help me sail past the trying and troubled times of life.

--

--