COVID-19! Unlearning Is Hard, Yet Necessary

Here is an example of the concept of changing/cancelling learning through @raashidsl on https://unsplash.com

Because of Covid-19, everything changed, and this has also brought about newness

Ironically, I welcomed to write a small contribution under “unlearning” during a global pandemic, a point in history whereby we all are undergoing drastic changes. Out of respect for readers, I support my writing through academic resources. Considering the time we are in, I think it is wise to track the beginning of global novelty, which changed life as we know it.

Shawna Williams wrote an article called A Brief History of Human Coronaviruses on June 02, 2020, as an online publication for The Scientist, Exploring Life Inspiring Innovation. In it, the author pointed out some well-known facts, such as

  1. “January 09, 2020: Chinese state media reported that a group of researchers led by Xu Jianguo identified the pathogen after a mysterious pneumonia outbreak in Wuhan” said Williams. The rest of the world was going about life as we knew it. However, the residents of Wuhan already started the life we are all in. Since I live far away from China, I did not seriously consider the development of Wuhan. I did not see that it could be my transformation.

--

--

Nombuso Makhubu
ILLUMINATION

I am of southern African descent living in Ottawa, Canada. My academic qualifications are law, human rights and social justice, global action and engagement.