Creative Work Is About Enjoying The Process, But Sadly, The “Numbers” Don’t Let You Do That

Overcoming creative dilemmas and focusing on what truly matters

Biliz Maharjan
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Ben Eaton on Unsplash

I’ve been writing online for a couple of years now. As much as I love writing stories and connecting with people, I also enjoy making money. I mean, who doesn’t like it when people read and appreciate their work? Who doesn’t love making money doing what they love?

However, I sometimes feel sad for not getting as many views or making as much money as expected. This directly impacts my writing process. I must write a better piece the next time to get more people to read my work. I want to write more because it will help me make all the $$$.

This means that I’m writing for the reward, not because I love spending my time typing words on the internet that nobody reads. My intention has become to get more views and make more money. Although I still love and enjoy writing, my ultimate motive has changed.

It wasn’t my conscious decision. I started writing online to help inspire people and share my knowledge with the world.

How did my intentions change? I’m not sure about it.

Most online creators face similar situations. They began creating content with a different…

--

--

Biliz Maharjan
ILLUMINATION

I write about self-improvement, creativity, and writing. Free writing guide—store.bilizmaharjan.com