Creativity: A Treasure Within

Ifra Ali
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readJun 17, 2021

“Creativity is the relationship between human beings and mysteries of inspiration.” -Elizabeth Gilbert

Photo by Artem Podrez from Pexels

You must have said this countless time seeing a talented person that he is gifted by God, or must have heard it from other people.

We see creativity, not as an ability but something that only a select few possess.

I too had believed in such things, when someone asked me, what are you good at? I promptly said nothing because I never paid attention to it. I pitied myself and kept sending a message to the unconscious mind of my worthlessness.

I overlooked my authentic creative ability of how good I was in doing certain things. I was so much at once yet nothing at all, for I was afraid of not being good enough. As I had already told myself that I am not gifted therefore I am not special. However, I have realized how we all keep fooling ourselves that way.

Creativity is an inherent treasure that each and every person is blessed with, it is only your deep-rooted anxieties, doubts, and fears that come in your way of discovering it. Look within and hunt out these jewels, ask yourself what is it that makes your heart delight.

Since we are too busy hustling we could hardly pay attention to the needs of our heart and soul, we deny seeing that spark of light within and then complain about not having it in us.

In a world where we are continuously trying to become someone else we forget to be ourselves and that is why we fail to discover that unique talent that we were supposed to present in the World.

The only difference between the people you think are talented and you is that they recognized their hidden treasures, came face to face with it, held it tight, owned it, worked on it day and night, and flourished with it.

Like every other skill, creativity too, doesn’t come all at once, it needs practice, needs to sharpen day after day. It evolves with every second you invest in it. It is more like a relationship that you have with something.

Creativity can be thought of as a profession, it may require the same amount of punctuality, dedication, and practice.

Studies have shown that people who are invested in their creative processes have a healthy and happy mind-body, as compared to the ones who are just busy being busy.

According to research, a person on a deathbed has minimal regrets who has lived a creative and passionate life as compared to the ones who did not.

In the fast progressing world, people are struggling to find an eternal experience of joy and peace and when they don’t they become depressed. There is a need to make people aware more about their internal gifts. A person shall never stop learning and exploring new skills, you never know where you discover your creativity and once you do that would definitely transform your life for the better and you would be an extraordinary version of yourself.

Inspiration to discover your creativity is everywhere, it is in abundance, look around with an open heart and mind, it must be there waving at you.

--

--