CRITICISM

How to Deal With Criticism?

Sagnik Chatterjee
ILLUMINATION
3 min readApr 13, 2024

--

Photo by Hannah Popowski on Unsplash

In my life, I've learned to value criticism—something that, in the beginning, I used to find deeply revolting when it was offered to me.

I used to question myself earlier, "Why do people criticise everything? Could they perhaps just stop once?"

With time, I came to a realisation. It is in all human nature to be critical. All that can be done is to accept that truth and deal with it as it is given.

There are two kinds of criticism that you will always face: constructive criticism that helps people somewhat or significantly to improve, and hateful criticism that lacks justification.

It is important to always remember to show appreciation to someone for giving you constructive criticism.

A constructive critique must have spent some time thinking about their criticism before delivering it to you, regardless of whether they like you or not.

You don’t have to agree with their perspective on you in order to be appreciative of that kind of constructive criticism, whether it is given in the best interest or not.

When you learn to show respect to the person giving you constructive criticism, most people won’t view you as a coward when they hear criticism of that kind from you in the future.

Even though they may not always agree with you on everything, their respect for you must rise in that case.

It takes courage, which not everyone possesses, to own up to some or all of your mistakes, but you can do so if you can learn to gratefully accept constructive criticism from those who may have spent time considering how best to express their criticism to you.

Many times in my personal life, constructive criticism has been really beneficial.

One of the most crucial things, in my opinion, that I need in order to improve at something over which I have complete control in my life is constructive criticism.

Criticism that is hateful, however, is entirely opposite of that.

People may choose to resent you for no apparent reason at all, or they may have a valid reason but fail to provide a detailed explanation.

Usually, their only intention while offering "criticism" is to make you feel terrible by making fun of you and making disparaging remarks.

You have to learn to ignore hateful criticism in order to deal with it. Refrain from reacting negatively to those who voice such hateful remarks without elaborate reasoning.

If not completely helpful, at least constructive criticism would at least somewhat help you.

When you receive specific constructive criticism, even if it is intended to belittle you, your perspective may shift somewhat or significantly.

Although, that isn’t the case with hateful criticism.

Lastly, I would like to point out that, in my real life, I handle criticism by ignoring all feelings when I face it, whether they are hateful or constructive.

I just listen to it, and if it turns out to be constructive—regardless of the intentions of the person offering me such criticism—I appreciate and respect them. If, on the other hand, I believe the criticism is merely hateful without proper reasoning, I choose to completely ignore it.

--

--