Cuba: What To Take With You; What To Do; What To Expect in 2023

A concise guide to a fascinating country

Araci Almeida
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Author

Cuba had long been on the list of my dream destinations. I’ve always been extremely curious about the culture, history, and, above all, curious about the enormous resilience of one of the best people I’ve ever met and who will remain in my heart forever.

This trip was one of those many things in life that happens by mere chance. In this case, it was an award my husband received from the company he works for, and it came at just the right time for us to make this trip a way of extending our honeymoon.

I have to admit, however, that I didn’t take the trip without a feeling of guilt or hypocrisy since I talk so much about environmental destruction, and the fact that I got on an eight-hour flight contradicts what I preach. Perhaps to assuage my guilt and not feel so bad for my actions, I took products in my hold bag that helped local people, but we’ll come to that.

What to pack

Cuba has a tropical climate, so you hardly need to pack any clothes. I only took one pair of shorts, one pair of linen pants, one dress, and three T-shirts (I only used one).

My husband did the same. But this doesn’t mean that the suitcase was empty, quite the

--

--

Araci Almeida
ILLUMINATION

9 Times Top Writer, but it doesn't matter anymore. I write about Portugal, I think.