MENTAL HEALTH

Cutting People Out of My Life Is A Form of Self-Care

I will do anything to maintain my peace

Jaron Mays
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readFeb 19, 2022

--

Photo by Pro Church Media on Unsplash

Looks like my contact list keeps getting smaller and smaller. Just a minute ago, I had to cut this dude out of my space for being a liability and not an asset.

Yeah, people can also become a liability or an asset as well. It doesn’t necessarily have to be some type of objects like a painting, NFTs, watches, or a house. People also present the capability of either adding value to your life or adding more stress, problems, and a bunch of other bullshit.

If there is one thing that I have learned in life as a 27-year-old Black man is that everybody doesn’t deserve to be around me.

I’ll say it again. Everybody does not deserve to be around me.

I know who I am and what kind of person I am. Honestly speaking, I am one of the most loyal, kind-hearted, honest, and respectful people you’re ever going to meet.

The “kind-hearted” part was always a blessing and a curse for me.

There are some people in this world who have a knack for taking kindness for weakness. Those are the people who consistently took advantage of guys like me just because they thought they could get away with it. No matter what, I…

--

--