Dale Carnegie Ruined This Man’s Career, And We Don't Talk About It

When books are lost in translation

Hakima T A N T R I K A
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Vladimir Soares on Unsplash

Mr. Kazuo, my manager, called me at his desk. He had a “gift” for me. This was very unusual in Japan, especially in the context of business.

He handed me a package, and I could see he had ordered from Amazon.

The package wasn’t that big, so I thought it was probably a book. I ripped it open like a child opening her Christmas gift, a smile on my face and sparks in my eyes, and indeed, found a book.

I took it in my hands and read the first lines of the title of a French book:

“Comment Se Faire Des Amis." = “How to Make Friends.”

The translation in English was literally "How to Make Friends."

But my reaction wasn't what Mr. Kazuo had expected. I let the book down and burst into tears.

“How could you?” I started crying.

The subject of friendship was a sensitive one for me; I was suffering from extreme loneliness and isolation in Japan.

I had no friends, nobody to talk to and my sexual frustration was overwhelming. And now my manager was giving me a book on how to make friends? He’d crossed my boundaries.

--

--

Hakima T A N T R I K A
ILLUMINATION

Scholar-practitioner of Classical Tantra with 15 years' experience, launching Quantum Tantra, a 3-month online program for the down-to-earth spiritual seekers