Day One

Nidhi Patnaik
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readApr 26, 2024
Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

The office buzzed with a rare kind of energy this Monday morning. I was pouring myself a second cup of coffee when I heard Raj mutter in frustration, “Sab khatam ho gaya( Everything is over),” staring despondently at his laptop screen.

“What happened?” I asked, walking over.

“This design — it’s all wrong. The client’s going to hate it,” he sighed, rubbing his temples.

Before I could offer any words of comfort, Priya chimed in from the next table, her voice ever optimistic. “Oh, come on, Raj! Life is to enjoy… sab kabhi khatam nahi hota ( Nothing is ever over ). We’ll fix it, just like we always do.”

Amit, the youngest among us, looked up from his sketches, adding his twist, “You know, life is about hitting milestones. Get married at 26, kids by 30. Just follow the plan, and you’ll be fine.”

I chuckled, remembering a time when I too had thought life could be meticulously planned out. “It’s interesting you say that, Amit. I used to think the same. But, honestly, these days I think life is more about embracing each new day. Like, today is Day One.”

They all looked at me curiously, so I continued, “Imagine there’s no tomorrow, or the world shuts down like during the pandemic? When these milestones vanish into thin air. What would happen ?”

Raj nodded slowly, “I get your point. But how do you deal with the daily grind then?”

“Well,” I paused, searching for the right words, “it’s about making every task a challenge, an attempt to get better. Take me learning to drive, for instance. I’ve always been terrified of it. Just yesterday, I banged the car into the wall while reverse parking — again!”

Priya laughed, “That’s rough! But you’re still driving?”

“Exactly,” I smiled. “Instead of giving up, I try again. There are days when I drive perfectly and then there are days like yesterday. But each mistake is a chance to improve.”

Amit seemed thoughtful. “So, focusing on getting better at whatever we do could make life more worthwhile?”

“Absolutely,” I replied. “Life isn’t just about the fears and failures. It’s also about overcoming them, finding joy in the small victories, and starting fresh. So, let’s start this project again, Raj. It’s Day One, remember?”

Raj cracked a smile, his spirit visibly lifted. “Day One, huh? Alright, let’s do it. Thanks, guys.”

As we gathered around Raj’s laptop, ready to tackle the project anew, I realised that these little conversations were also part of what made life so endlessly fascinating.

Every day, every moment held the potential for growth and happiness. We just had to be willing to see it.

--

--

Nidhi Patnaik
ILLUMINATION

---My learnings in Life---creating meaning in a world of chaos