Dear Members of the Human Species Native to This Planet Earth

I confess you caught us.

Mark Scofield
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Arjun MJ on Unsplash

It has come to my attention that the existence of some members of my crew here on this Earth may have been exposed.

We are here as an act of charity to you, our interstellar neighbors. We were hoping to accomplish our mission in the shadows while you stayed unaware of our presence, but recent events have led me to conclude that we need to come clean.

I don’t recall my expectations as I incarnated here for this mission. But, as you ignored me, lied to me, and always went against my best well-thought-out political opinions, and following repeated stabs in the back, I was led to a point where I no longer understood myself to be human. This led me to discover an underlying reality whose existence most humans seem to remain blissfully unaware of.

Our divergent views and beliefs were a constant source of tension for me as I remained silent. It was too much for me to continue believing that we are of the same species. There’s a deeply seeded hate and mistrust that humans have towards strangers and those who behave or believe differently from them that I’ve never been able to digest.

--

--

Mark Scofield
ILLUMINATION

Coming out of the shadows. No more pseudonym. Humans are designed to fail. I'm Exhibit A. Often writing semi-fictional history and autobiographical stories.