Dear Palestine, Thank You

Neyla
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMay 27, 2024
The watermelon is a symbol of Palestinian resistance and solidarity

I don’t know how to begin or what to say. I am traumatized and speechless. I have never felt so hopeless and useless. All I have are my tears and words that torment me. I feel like I will explode at any moment.

Dear Palestine, did you know you’re the only free country in this world? The images I see right now, the horror they represent, are unbelievable. My mind can’t accept it as real. The country has been occupied for more years than the average human lifespan. The first Nakba,…, Shifa Hospital Massacre, Flour Massacre, and now Rafah Massacre. The level of atrocity and evil. I never expected to see the worst face of humanity. Bodies everywhere, loss everywhere, blood, death, hunger, oppression. How is a human capable of doing this to another human? I can’t understand it.

It is said that dictators use tactics to dehumanize the other side, making them seem less human, less alive, and less deserving of anything. But what they really dehumanize is themselves. They set free the ugliest side of humans, the weak side that lives on fear and hate.

My Palestine stands alone, facing the whole world, sacrificing herself to save humanity. Actually, I was losing my faith in humanity, but then I saw Palestinians, the most brave and beautiful souls. I never knew such love for life could exist even in the face of death. They embrace terror with patience. Children, I mean angels, who live with a smile surrounded by rubble and destruction. Women, oh God, Palestinian women — the mothers, wives, and sisters who keep the culture and society alive when many have lost their conscience. And the men, the bravest and warmest people ever. I never knew that kind of empathy existed in a man. Every part of the community comes together to support each other. Journalists sacrifice their safety to tell their stories. Doctors become the most hated and targeted because of how precious they are. It comes times that wearing a white apron isn’t a privilege anymore but an honor worthy of murder. I am crying while writing these words, ashamed of myself and proud to be human like the Palestinians.

Palestine, you stood alone in the dark, lighting it with hope. They wouldn’t believe what you did. You saved us, me and everybody else. Thanks to you, a lot of people are waking up and realizing that it’s not about the people’s will but about the power and desire that lead our governments. So thank you, dear Palestine.

Thank you for uniting us. People all over the world of different races, ethnicities, and religions are standing together for you. They are screaming, “You are not alone and you will never walk alone.” People who have never set foot on your soil or seen your beauty cry for you, pray for you. It’s incredible — a Muslim, a Christian, and a Jew pray together for you. People sacrifice their lives to shut down weapon factories, and block roads. Students sacrifice one of the most awaited moments of their lives — graduation. You know how important graduation is; it’s one of the milestones of one’s life. But if our fellow Palestinians can’t graduate, why should it bother us if we can’t?

Thank you, dear Palestine. You helped me get to know my heroes and role models in a time when everyone is a copy-paste of each other. I am talking about Rachel Corrie, one of my heroes who deserves articles about her alone. And then there are children who boycott their favorite food for you. People are marching in thousands for you. They are getting arrested, and called names, but they never forget to smile because nothing equals what Palestinians live every day and every second.

People say that we should be on the right side of history, but you have already made history. You made us believe in humanity, to have faith that the future isn’t as dark as they predicted. Humans are capable of greatness.

Thank you for showing us whom to trust and whom to avoid. You unmasked so many faces that it would take me a lifetime to recognize them again. Thank you, dear Palestine. I am writing this while crying. All I have are my tears and words that nobody will read. I pray for you. I pray for humanity.

FREE, FREE, FREE PALESTINE.

--

--

Neyla
ILLUMINATION

I’m not a writer, but a vivid reader who loves to explore deep thought and worlds. What I share are the reflections and discussions I have within myself. 🦋