Dear Work: I Just Don’t Care

I’m Gen X and all I want is a paycheck.

Jenn M. Wilson
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

It’s 10:00 pm on a Sunday.

This is peak procrastination. I didn’t get things done all week and I have deliverables for Monday. I kicked the can down the road and figured I’d get it all done on Sunday since I didn’t have the kids or plans.

Well…it’s Sunday. Here I am on Medium, procrastinating some more.

We Gen Xers are in a weird spot. Boomers have the cult of “pull yourself up by the bootstraps” with the security of pensions and fully-funded Social Security. I can subscribe to any cult if it’ll give me an affordable house and a cushy lifestyle on one income.

The generations after Gen X took our jaded attitudes and did something about it. Fuck buying overpriced homes. Fuck getting married and having 2.5 kids. Fuck staying at a miserable company that has no loyalty beyond a severance check.

Some people may say they’re woke snowflakes who don’t want to do real work. I disagree.

The people that think that are incapable of challenging old-school belief systems. It’s like when people have kids; they try convincing others that having kids is amaaaazing because it’s better to suck everyone into the misery. Yes, I love my kids to death, but it hasn’t been a walk in the park and I

--

--

Jenn M. Wilson
ILLUMINATION

My midlife crisis and adventures along the way. I write because in real life my humor is allegedly too sarcastic and inappropriate. MediumNinjaGirl@gmail.com