Decision fatigue.

Isaiah Armendariz
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readAug 3, 2023
Painting “The Quiet Hour” By Dod Procter

The table has been set but I stand frozen.

Nailed into the floor, struggling for ease,

peering up close, into all possibilities.

I could do this, I could do that.

So much time in a day, but I choose to let it all go to waste.

Because each playground wants me closer, “come here come out, use your time wisely before its over!”

It speaks this over and over again, each idea calling out to me.

Should I rest and recuperate, its true I am weary.

Should I play and explore, learn how to enjoy being free?

Or should I put my head down and work, summoning better days for a future me.

Maybe I could write and conjure things up, the ideas ive been dreaming up so effortlessly.

I could stretch move my muscles, bend further each day until they move without trouble.

I have time to scroll all night on my phone too, I do wonder what my friends have been up to since I've been gone?

A good book?

A nice film??

All these things waiting to be feasted on…

Calling out and crying in unison for undivided attention.

Yet I stand perfectly petrified and my hands without work.

This is where I wait until the moon comes up and I can hide my head under the covers.

Full of fatigue, but away from decisions that threaten to suffocate me.

Thank you so much for reading! I’ve been peering into too many possibilities in my day to day life which ended up birthing this piece.

If you would like to read more from me I recommend this piece concerning love.

--

--

Isaiah Armendariz
ILLUMINATION

Reading was the first love, and writing my second, thoughts become things so I decided to store them...... Instagram: @forreal_isaiah