Destroy the Truth — Control the World

D J B
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readJan 17, 2024

--

It really isn’t that difficult

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

A dream scenario, an example:

I am a well-respected lawyer who goes before the high court. I am defending a client who is a pathological liar. My defense is that no one can know the truth.

I come to the courtroom equipped with nine US quarters. They are from 2022. They have Washington on one side and Anna May Wong on the back. They have all the usual marks and milling. They look like, feel like, and actually are US Quarter Dollars that I got at a bank.

I hand one quarter to each judge. I tell them I got them at the bank this morning and ask if they believe they are authentic.

But, before they can answer, I tell them that, really, I did not get them from the bank. They came from an agent of my client’s enemies. They were made by a Russian agency that is trying to cause chaos in American currency. They are clever fakes. They are almost so perfect that only an expert with special knowledge can tell the difference. I call out an expert who explains that some of those quarters are .0001 ounces lighter than a US Quarter.

I go on to explain that I have revealed this truth to millions of people, and they believe me. They believe me because I have a history of telling them other truths that they were not aware of, such as that…

--

--

D J B
ILLUMINATION

I have been mumbling almost incoherently in response to life's problems for a long, long time. Contact me at djbermont@gmail.com