essay | illumination

Detachment

And why I’ve chosen it as my word of the year

Ravyne Hawke
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readDec 19, 2021

--

Photo by Raul Varzar on Unsplash

It’s that lovely time of the year again where I choose a word/concept to focus on for the entire next year and have a look back at how things progressed with the word I’d chosen for the previous year. I’ve been doing this since 2014 instead of resolutions that I always broke before January was even halfway through.

In the past, I have chosen words like Acceptance, Gratitude, Abundance, Engage, and Loving-Kindness. All of these have helped me progress in my spiritual growth. Some in fascinating ways and others in bizarre ways.

For instance, I’d chosen Abundance back in 2016. I thought, how can I go wrong with something so beautiful? Well, the Universe has a way of laughing in my face sometimes. Oh, you want abundance? Are you sure? Fine, you asked for it! Boy did I ever get it!! I forgot about an important rule — be careful what you ask for, especially if you aren’t specific enough.

The year began okay. I set goals for writing projects and didn’t really foresee problems completing them. But then I took on too many side projects because well, the Universe directed people to me who wanted to push my writing skills into other directions and I accepted this because that’s what I said I would do. Then I allowed myself…

--

--

Ravyne Hawke
ILLUMINATION

Writing Coach, Poet, Fiction Writer, Essayist, Artist, Dreamer | “Enlightenment is when a wave realizes it is the Ocean” ~Thich Nhat Hanh