Dimash, the Kazakh Prodigy

Six-octave voice, seven instruments, and as many languages

Elisabeth Khan
ILLUMINATION

--

Dimash making selfies with fans at the Minsk (Belarus) airport, June 2019 (photo d_odin/Shutterstock.com)

Have you heard his name?

Those among you who have been following me for awhile know that I’m a very young old lady. But this time I’ve surprised even myself: At 65 I have developed a genuine teenage crush on a music idol. Yes, I have become a Dimash Dear (as his fans are called) and I don’t care who knows it.

In fact, I am dying to share my admiration for Dimash Kudaibergen with the world. Without much further ado, this is what I am talking about:

In case the embed is not working, hurry over to YouTube NOW and copy-paste this: Dimash Kudaibergen S.O.S Slavic Bazaar 2018. Listen to it before reading the rest!

How I discovered Dimash

One day I opened YouTube to seek some distraction from the depressing COVID-19 lockdown. Anything would do: laughing parrots, baby sloths being bathed, a few tracks by Playing For Change, or some great dabke dancers.

--

--

Elisabeth Khan
ILLUMINATION

Multicultural, multilingual writer, translator, and editor. Co-editor at Literary Impulse and ShabdAaweg Review. Senior Editor at ShabdAaweg Press.