Deactivating My Instagram Was One of the Best Life Decisions I’ve Ever Made

and no, I don’t feel like I’m left behind

Anggun Bawi
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Social.Cut on Unsplash

I scroll, scroll and scroll for hours and before I knew it, I got neck pain. I spent too much time minding other people’s lives rather than my own.

Looking back, no wonder I was always emotionally and mentally tired, complaining, and basically unhappy.

My relationship with social media hasn’t been good since day one. I tend to spend too much time on it or ditch it altogether. I desperately wanted to make a massive change.

However, after trying different hacks and still got zero results, I finally decided to pull the trigger and click that ‘disable’ button. In the hope that I can come back later with a different mindset and have some controls over it.

But what exactly made me disable my Instagram account in the first place? Is it that bad? Yes and No. Let me share what are they:

1. I Measure My Value Based on How Many Followers/likes I Got

That sounds so bad when you read it right? I know…

But of course, I couldn’t see how toxic it was and how bad it’s for my self-esteem. I let myself think that I’ll be good enough only when I get a…

--

--

Anggun Bawi
ILLUMINATION

writing on trauma, dating and relationships - in the hope that you'll feel less alone on your journey | lives in vancouver 🇨🇦