Explaining the Ten Lightest Chemical Elements

From hydrogen to neon.

Cosmic Wonders
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Ryan Schroeder on Unsplash

British spelling.

You may think that the images throughout my story are unrelated to the topic, but remember, all physical things are made of atoms.

Here is a short explanation of the ten lightest atoms, starting with hydrogen and ending with neon. Enjoy.

Photo by Jonny Gios on Unsplash

1/10

I’m a Hydrogen Atom (H) With Atomic Number 1

By far, I am the most abundant chemical element in the universe.

I am the oldest, lightest, and most abundant element in the universe, making up 74% of its mass.

I did not exist in the early universe because the conditions were too hot, but around 380,000 years after the universe’s birth, the cooler conditions enabled me to become a true atom.

My nucleus is just one proton, and one spinning electron circles my nucleus. That’s the reason I am the lightest of the 118 known elements.

Stellar nucleosynthesis is the process by which atoms are created within stars, intense heat in the core of stars triggers…

--

--

Cosmic Wonders
ILLUMINATION

Embark on an awe-inspiring exploration of the universe and life through my easy to understand articles