Do We Need Social Media Presence To Feel Validated?

In rejecting social media, I was rejecting myself

When Plato Met Prada
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Park Street on Unsplash.

2017 was the last year I uploaded a photo on my Instagram.

I stopped because I felt I had nothing interesting to share compared to the cool lives of others.

No, I wasn’t on yachts or having breakfast with a view in St. Tropez.

No, I wasn’t showing my six-pack after an intense workout.

No, I wasn’t going to cool parties and events.

Was that enough reason to stay out? No. And I’ll tell you why

Are you in the social media game?

You can choose to navigate the social media landscape consciously or unconsciously. Either way, you choose, you are part of it.

Every publication, story, or tweet will create an image of yourself in people’s minds.

If you play it consciously, it helps build credibility around the person you wanna be known for.

If you don’t, people will still think of you directly associated with the content you share.

I always felt that because of my industry, fashion, I needed to have a cool profile. Showing that I understand the trends, which brands are in, and the top…

--

--