Do You Have a Slush Pile?

Lipika Agrawal
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readOct 12, 2023
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

That one pile filled with incomplete pieces of text, stories that couldn’t find their endings, articles rejected by clients or companies?

When I was new to writing, my slush pile represented my failure. It had all the pieces of my heart that couldn’t reach their destination.

There was a story I was writing. I started it on impulse, without much research or planning, only to be stuck in the middle because I had no idea how to reach the ending I’d imagined.

After the first few scenes, the story seemed to have developed a life of its own, going in a very different direction from the one I’d desired.

The characters developed their own thinking, and I felt they wouldn’t be satisfied with the ending I’d thought for them.

There were other problems too. The story was set in a place I was completely unaware of, and fleshing out minute details was becoming hard each passing day.

And so I got detached from it, took a break. One day turned into two. Like that, months went by. I was releasing it as a serial fiction, but its only readers were my friend and sister.

I never imagined they were interested in the story. They were probably doing me a favor by reading it. They never appreciated it, and I never asked them for a feedback,

Was I scared they’d criticize it? Perhaps.

So after spending a lot of time racking my brains to reach an ending, I decided to give up. It wasn’t a decision I took consciously. The story just faded to the back of my mind and laptop, with me moving on to more realistic pursuits in life (like searching for freelance projects as I was short on cash).

A few months later, when the story came up in a conversation with my sister, she asked why I’d stopped writing it. I was silent for a minute. What could I say?

At that time, I still felt like a loser who couldn’t finish a story. I never tried to inspect why it had happened.

In my silence, she said, “I don’t know why you stopped, but I was waiting for the next chapter. For a month, I refreshed your blog every day to see if you’d uploaded something.”

By then, I was gaping at her. I was a loser, a quitter, not a good writer. But here was the one person I’d wanted to impress the most, saying she WAITED for my story.

That was all the push I needed because I’ve never looked back since.

--

--

Lipika Agrawal
ILLUMINATION

Storyteller | Poet | A grain of sand in the universe