Do you Struggle to Learn Anything? Use This Simple Habit Now

You can learn faster and save time simultaneously

Prosper Ocheme
ILLUMINATION
2 min readSep 20, 2022

--

Photo by Gaelle Marcel on Unsplash

One of the biggest mistakes I made at the start of my writing career is directly related to learning. It was clear what the problem was, but I only discovered this after months of failure.

For months, I was learning without intention. I couldn’t notice any growth or general improvements. It felt like I was running around like a headless chicken.

Paying attention to Erica Schneider is what brought this to my attention. There’s learning, and there’s learning the right way. I don’t care what industry you are in, what you are trying to learn, or what methods you are using. If there is no intention in your learning habits, you run the risk of wasting one of the most important assets you have, your time.

That’s exactly what happened to me.

There are more risks

Here are 3 issues learning without intention can cause.

A general lack of focus and organization

Without intention, there is no structure. Without structure, there is no focus and organization. Paying attention in a short time is allowing me to create systems around my writing process.

For those familiar with systems, you know how important they are for achieving success.

A lack of improvement

We can all understand the frustrations a lack of improvement can cause. It is quite difficult to improve at anything without measuring where you are at first.

I didn’t know how shitty my writing was until I started learning with intention. This has allowed me to take actionable steps toward growing as a writer.

A lack of consistency

When I first started consistency was one of my major issues. Heck, it still is. But I am 10x better at being consistent than I used to be, simply by paying more attention to intention.

For a while, all I was doing was reading and studying, but not a lot of action. I found that this was generally because of my lack of focus. I was constantly overwhelmed with information.

A lack of intention on my part was fuelling my procrastination. Believe me, this is not where you want to be as a writer. Especially if you are just starting.

If you are not paying attention to your learning intention, please start now. Consistency without intention is time wasted.

--

--