Do You Want To Become An Expert At Something?

I learned some useful tips on how to up-skill yourself; I'll be sharing them in this writing 100%

Ethan
ILLUMINATION
2 min readNov 9, 2022

--

Everyone has specific interests. Sometimes you get interested in a skill, in something you feel like: "I would love to do this and be a pro at it," and you can't simply wrap your mind around it. You could be in love with something, let's say painting, and would love to do some stuff on art, but you can't figure it out; well, it happens to everyone … it happened to me.

I recently wanted to know more about some very personal stuff, and I started researching how to go about it nicely because I couldn't wrap my mind around it. It's far from my field, but I love the aesthetics. Well, I compiled some things that you might find helpful.

To Be The Expert, You Must Be a Great Reader

Somebody asked Elon Musk how he built nice rockets his reply was, "I read books." Yes, reading is a key factor in being the expert you dream of. I mentioned in my previous article that the highest professionals do more reading, drafting, and research, which is noteworthy.

To Be An Expert, Maintain Focus

Focusing and determination would help a lot. Some professionals even travel away from home just to put more attention into a project or skill. You can also get a clearer picture of this from those who go about weight loss programs. Procrastinating can never help when you are in the expert race.

Understand The Concept Of Practice Yo Be An Expert

We are all familiar with the old cliché about practice makes perfect; of course, this is also noteworthy. But it goes beyond just practicing to being very passionate about it. Just imagine how dedicated Meta Inc's CEO is to the metaverse, despite the market cap drop and all. Whether trying to develop a social or technical skill, you can't just arrive at perfecto at once. There is always a need for practicing and dedication to be the expert of your dreams.

“Fear not the man who has practiced 1000 kicks, but fear the man who has practiced 1 kick 1000 times” — Bruce Lee

Write Summaries For Better Memory To Be The Expert

One other big step is to cultivate the habit of writing short summaries after or during learning. You don't have to be a writer to draft out summaries. Scientifically speaking, when you register, you tend to remember what you learned more. Today what makes us appreciate old-time geniuses and polymaths is their write-ups during studies, observations, and research.

Final Thoughts

Life upgrading is one characteristic of a successful person; even revolutionary products are upgraded now and then. You are such an expert in what you should crave.

--

--

Ethan
ILLUMINATION

Writer & indie author passionate about art, tech, and exploring the world of AI. Email me>> Ethanof9ja@gmail.com #Writingcommunity