Does Being Healthier Mean Being Boring?

Tips For Shedding Chaotic Behaviours and Embracing Calm

Joe Gibson, Above The Middle
ILLUMINATION

--

Photograph by Dina Nasyrova on Pexels

A few weeks ago I was working when a friend came up to discuss weekend plans I had. There wasn’t much on my cards, but I was happy with that — my weekends are as much of a time for relaxation as they are to do the things I can’t do during the week.

He had his own plans involving a big rave in the city and was eager to hear if I’d be up for it, and I may have been, if I wasn’t cracking down on my bad habits around drinking and partying. I politely said no with the awareness that suffering on a Sunday with a hangover is one of the least appealing things I could hope to do. I’ve made that mistake more times than I’d care to admit.

He was persistent, though, and didn’t quite understand my reasoning. Don’t be boringhe said, “You haven’t been out in ages”. I mean, he was right, I hadn’t been out in ages, but I was okay with that.

You see, often times the bad behaviours we’re caught up in ARE the ones that give us a rush of excitement. Whether it’s being hooked in an unhealthy relationship that has your moods swinging or partying in a rave filled with alcohol and drugs, we can confuse ourselves in thinking these things are “good” amidst such chaos and excitement.

--

--

Joe Gibson, Above The Middle
ILLUMINATION

Your path to authentic love and secure relationships starts here. Above The Middle, a blog by me, Joe Gibson.