Does Moving to a New Country Promise a New You?

Why I moved back to Egypt for good

Wendy S. Bradfield
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Taryn Elliott from Pexels

I managed to grab the last luggage cart at the airport, but sadly, the thing wouldn’t budge. The great thing about Egypt is five people come to your aid as soon as you flash that I’m a weary traveler and I need help look.

I knew my cart wouldn’t roll, but I let 4 or 5 guys try. Each pushed it just enough until I spotted my driver holding a “Miss Wendy” sign. The poor guy waited for 3 hours before I showed up, and I was grateful.

I knew he’d be there because Egyptians rarely give up.

The Cairo airport is your first initiation to Egypt, and if you can make it through there, you’re doing well.

Customs used to be strict in Egypt. I don’t know what happened, but this time it amounted to a guy yelling out, “Anything to declare?”, me screaming “No!” and that was customs.

My hostel had no soap, towels, or water. After 43 hours of travel, I required all three. I moved to the Western-style hotel across the street the following day to ease my transition with creature comforts like soap, towels, and water.

Call me bougie, but I needed the buffer after 43 hours of travel.

--

--

Wendy S. Bradfield
ILLUMINATION

A cosmos-driven Egypt-based writer of broken dreams with a motivational flair. I write about love, life, and Egypt. Check me out at Egypteverafter.com