Cryptocurrency / Blockchain

I Bought Dogecoin And Regret It — Even Though I Made a Profit

The bubble might have serious consequences.

Louis Petrik
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readApr 28, 2021

--

Dogecoin
Photo by Anna Shvets from Pexels

Dogecoin is the GameStop of the crypto world.

I don’t need to mention that the coin isn’t an innovation(and yet some don’t know that).

Nevertheless, I’ve invested. During the last hype, I bought Dogecoins for over $300. My position was plus 70% in a short time, but this article is not about whether it was a good or bad investment.

I regret the decision because Dogecoin is much more than just an investment.

Dogecoin is a statement about the entire crypto market, and here’s why.

The Hype Might Have Serious Consequences

Functioning markets should regulate themselves, so a widespread assumption.

This means that bad cryptocurrencies are not overvalued.
In the case of Dogecoin, there was a market capitalization of over $40 billion in meantime.

For a meme coin, that’s way too much. But what’s the problem if the market doesn’t regulate itself properly?
The problem is that the government usually gets involved.

--

--

Louis Petrik
ILLUMINATION

JavaScript & Python. Figuring out life, one idea at a time. Unlimited reads: https://medium.com/@louispetrik/membership