Don’t Believe Everything You Think

How to allow your mind to support and not sabotage happiness

Selma
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readMay 9, 2020

--

Photo by AMISH THAKKAR on Unsplash

“The mind is its own place, and in itself
can make a heaven of Hell, and hell of Heaven.”
— John Milton, English Poet.

Transformational expert, Marci Shimoff, co-author of Chicken Soup for the Woman’s Soul and a featured teacher in The Secret wrote about an incident that I recall almost blew my mind. I remember the feeling to this day.

She wrote about being blessed to hear a revered sage speak once and about how that time the good sage took a question from a particularly well-dressed man in the audience.

“The man was dressed in an expensive suit, wearing classy shoes, and dripping with gold jewelry,” Marci wrote.

And she went on to tell me that the question the well-dressed man asked the sage was this, “What do I need to give up to experience true happiness and inner peace?”

Well, shucks, I thought, that well-dressed brother has a right to ask anything he wants to ask. And the fact that he’s so well dressed is no indication of what he carries inside. Or is it? Oh, I don’t know. I don’t focus on outside appearances. I like to believe that everyone, rich or poor, has a good shot at happiness.

--

--

Selma
ILLUMINATION

‘Ordinary’ INFJ. Slow-Reader. Learner/Enthusiast. Nature-lover. Lives reverently in healing frequency. Believer: Miracles & Kindness. Writes for YOU 💗 No bling