Don’t grow like this on Twitter

Mistakes that I made that you should avoid.

Suvadeep Paul
ILLUMINATION
1 min readNov 26, 2023

--

Learn from my mistake.

I was having a chat with one of my friends.

He shared with me a famous dude stealing his content.

I looked at the pattern and told him I was doing the same.

Here’s the mistake that I made and which you should avoid:

  • Going to a profile in my size or with fewer followers than me.
  • See their recent or all-time top-performing tweets.
  • Copy the structure and take ideas from the topic.
  • Recreate it with my experience and my voice.

I was kind of using tweet templates or a structure + idea that has already worked.

I’m not saying taking inspiration from the tweet is bad but when I kept doing it daily and started copying the structure from that tweet, it became a problem.

Just like tweet templates, doing these killed my creativity.

I started relying on others for my content.

And in the back of my mind, there was a fear of getting caught.

Which can hugely damage my business and reputation on X.

I shared my experience.

Now do whatever you want with it.

Learn lessons from others' mistakes, or get caught, and then learn the lesson.

--

--