Don’t Let Darkness Win

What Nobody Tells You About Difficult Times

Ryan Mitchell ℝℳ★
ILLUMINATION
3 min readMar 16, 2024

--

Photo by Gabriel on Unsplash

Over eight years have passed since I lost my wife of fifty years to pancreatic cancer.

At 70, she was young by today’s standards.

In her final days, when I remarked on the unfairness of it all, her response resonated deeply within me:

“Not fair? What’s fair? Have you seen the young people in the infusion center receiving their chemotherapy? They’re wasting away before they’ve truly lived. That’s not fair.”

Her words humbled me and filled me with pride for her courage.

Though she’s always on my mind, the pain is particularly acute during the New Year celebrations. It was a time she cherished, gathering friends and family to celebrate together.

These memories, while precious, also stir up profound sadness.

Both she and I traversed the shadowy paths of mortality.

The valley of shadows, as described in Psalm 23, encapsulates this journey:

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters. He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

Picture entering a desolate valley cloaked in darkness.

Shadows dance, fear whispers, and dangers lurk unseen.

Yet, amidst this bleakness, the speaker boldly proclaims, “I will fear no evil.”

This defiance isn’t born of personal strength but from the presence of a guiding force, “for You are with me.”

The shepherd’s staff and rod, symbols of protection and direction, represent God’s comforting presence, reassuring the traveler amid shadows.

Even in the valley’s depths, hope shines through with the promise of divine guidance.

This verse offers solace in adversity, reminding us that we’re not alone, even in darkness.

With faith and trust, we can navigate any valley, knowing that divine strength sustains us and hope awaits.

Rabbi Jonathan Sacks aptly remarked on Psalm 23, particularly the verse, “Though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil for You are with me,” noting that faith isn’t certainty but the courage to live with uncertainty.

When darkness encroaches and personal challenges loom large, Psalm 23 becomes a beacon of hope and a practical guide for navigating life’s shadows.

Its wisdom transcends religious boundaries, speaking to the universal human capacity for resilience and hope.

Here’s how we can integrate its teachings into our lives:

  1. Embrace Vulnerability: Acknowledge the reality of darkness and fear. By accepting our vulnerabilities, we open ourselves to the source of true strength: trust in something beyond ourselves.
  2. Cultivate Faith: Find strength in faith, whatever form it takes. Nurture your faith through prayer, meditation, or simply holding onto the belief that goodness prevails.
  3. Seek Comfort in Symbols: Draw solace from personal symbols that evoke strength and hope — a cherished object, a nature scene, or a piece of music.
  4. Focus on Gratitude: Practice gratitude, even in the darkest moments. Shift your focus from despair to hope by appreciating the blessings, no matter how small.
  5. Remember, We Are Not Alone: Seek solace in connecting with loved ones or communities of faith. Share your burdens and vulnerabilities, finding comfort in human connection.

Incorporating these lessons into our lives, we transform Psalm 23 from mere words into a practical roadmap for navigating life’s trials.

It reminds us that even in the deepest valleys, faith, hope, and connection illuminate the path forward, leading us from shadows to the green pastures beyond.

--

--

Ryan Mitchell ℝℳ★
ILLUMINATION

Leadership Guide, Speaker. Former Googler, Idaho MBA Grad. Passionate about empowering individuals through Music, leadership, Tech, and knowledge exchange.