Simple Tips to Improve Your Writing

Don’t Spam Your Most Loyal Readers

Adding a referral link to your stories saying “Join Medium” is unnecessary

James Bellerjeau, JD, MBA
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readJan 29, 2023

--

A flyer stuffed into a small door opening
Photo by Possessed Photography on Unsplash

I guess we’re all used to new writers not understanding some basic rules of Medium Etiquette. We all take some time to learn the ropes.

Today I’m going to describe something I bet some of you still don’t know, even if you’ve been on Medium for a while. I base this on what I see in many articles from authors new and old.

It’s the referral link. You know, that part at the bottom of all your articles where you say some variation of “Like what you read? Become a Medium member for just $5 a month …”

I included the referral link text on all my stories for months. I only learned recently that it’s totally superfluous.

Why You Don’t Need The Referral Link

We don’t need the referral link because Medium handles this automatically. By including it we are simply spamming everyone who is already a Medium member.

“What?!” you’re thinking. “I know you like to make big claims to generate discussion, James. Do you have the goods to back this one up?” I do.

--

--

James Bellerjeau, JD, MBA
ILLUMINATION

Mechanic of the human soul. I channel Seneca and Machiavelli at predictable intervals (now weekly)