Don’t wait

Why waiting for the perfect opportunity is a trap.

Cameron Mueller
ILLUMINATION
2 min readApr 26, 2024

--

Photo by Frank Park on Unsplash

Lately, I try not to use the term “I’m waiting” because it’s never actually a place I want to be. The waiting place.

Described by Dr. Suess as a most useless place.

I get there. Sometimes we have to endure the slow passage of time before we can act on a particular thing. Farmers cannot just harvest before it’s time, nor can pregnant women give birth just because they want to get it over with. These things are out of your control.

However, there are also those things that we could act on but don’t because we are waiting for more savings, a prayer to be answered, a new president, etc.

But there is no perfect timing; it doesn’t exist, and the only perfect decision is the one that is made. we do not make the right decisions; we make our decisions right.

It is impossible to know the future and you will be waiting around an awfully long time if you want things to be ideal.

There is something to be said about a well-laid-out plan, but it better come with a really strong ultimatum, like we will have a kid when you get that new job or by 2025. Otherwise, there will always be a reason not to do it.

And the truth is that when an event does fit your criteria, the chances that your criteria are flawed are probable. because you are flawed and can’t know how everything will shake out.

So for a personal example, I am currently looking into a new career field where I would undergo a short training period before looking for new work, but then I start asking myself, What is the correct training facility? Should I line up a job first, then schedule the course? These may be valid questions, but they very well might give me decision fatigue and are definitely delaying me from just making a decision and then making the decision right.

So I will probably just book a training segment that works for my schedule now and follow the job leads as they emerge. I cannot predict the issues that might come up, so I cannot make plans for things I cannot see. I must make a choice based on what suits me best now and solve problems as they appear.

So what thing are you putting off, is there a valid reason, and is the criteria required for the decision to be made actually within your ability to predict or rightly assess?

Read more here.

Originally published at https://korublog.substack.com.

--

--

Cameron Mueller
ILLUMINATION

Aspiring entrepreneur, Writer, leather worker, Vlogger, Podcast host and more, Follow long and give support here, https://linktr.ee/CameronMueller