Dopamine Detox Part 1

Soupstik
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMar 20, 2023

Quit Smoking for Better Health

Photo by Possessed Photography on Unsplash

Yes!! I did it!

Not bragging, but at the beginning of Week 12 of 2023, I can proudly say that I am able to fulfill my new year resolution - “Quit Smoking”.

I started smoking at the age of 21. Not kidding, but it turned into an addiction (not a major one), considering 2 cigarettes in a day. This totals to 60 in a month, which means 6 packets in a month.

Finally, after 5 years, I can proudly say, “It’s over! I quit!”.

But why it turns into an addiction?

Smoking is a habit that many people struggle to quit due to its addictive nature. The addictive substance in tobacco, nicotine, increases the release of dopamine in the brain’s reward center, causing a rush of pleasure and a desire to repeat the behavior. However, quitting smoking is a form of dopamine detox that can have numerous health benefits.

The absorption of nicotine from cigarettes in your body impacts the neurotransmitters in your brain, resulting in the release of several chemicals such as noradrenaline that cause stimulation, beta-endorphins that alleviate anxiety, and long-term effects on the dopamine system — a part of the brain associated with addiction, mood, and reward.

When you quit smoking, your brain’s dopamine receptors start to normalize, leading to a decrease in cravings and withdrawal symptoms. In short, as soon as you remove that nicotine from your body, your brain tells you that something is missing.

Your body has become accustomed to those chemical changes, and in as little as 30 minutes after your last cigarette, smoking withdrawal symptoms may start to show themselves. However, while they can be unpleasant, they are certainly not harmful, and the good news is that, after a couple of weeks, the worst will most definitely be over.

The first few days of my journey to quit smoking were the hardest. I felt irritable, anxious, and constantly craving a cigarette. But I had made a commitment to myself to quit, and I knew that I had to stick with it. I started to replace smoking with healthy activities, such as exercise and meditation and sought support from friends and family.

One of the biggest challenges I faced was overcoming my triggers. Every time I felt stressed or anxious, my first instinct was to reach for a cigarette. But I started to retrain my brain to find other ways to cope with stress, such as taking a walk or practicing deep breathing.

As time went on, I started to notice the benefits of quitting smoking. I could breathe easier, my sense of taste and smell improved, and I had more energy throughout the day. I also felt a sense of pride and accomplishment for taking control of my addiction and making positive changes in my life.

Of course, quitting smoking wasn’t without its setbacks. There were times when I relapsed and smoked a cigarette, but I didn’t let that discourage me. I reminded myself that quitting smoking was a journey and that every step forward was progress.

Well, you can do it too!

Here are some tips for quitting smoking as a form of dopamine detox:

  1. Set a quit date: Choose a specific date to quit smoking and stick to it. This will help you mentally prepare and make a commitment to quitting.
  2. Replace smoking with healthy activities: Identify activities that can replace smoking as a source of pleasure and reward. This can include exercise, meditation, hobbies, or spending time with loved ones.
  3. Seek support: Quitting smoking can be a difficult process, and it’s important to have support from friends, family, or a support group. You can also consider nicotine replacement therapy or prescription medications to help ease withdrawal symptoms.
  4. Focus on the benefits: Quitting smoking has numerous health benefits, including reducing the risk of cancer, heart disease, and respiratory problems. Keep these benefits in mind to stay motivated and committed to quitting.
  5. Be patient and kind to yourself: Quitting smoking can be a long and challenging process, and it’s important to be patient and kind to yourself. Remember that relapses can happen, and it’s important to get back on track as soon as possible.

Hope this helps!!

Thanks for reading!

Please support me at: https://www.buymeacoffee.com/soupstick

--

--