Drawing Boundaries at the Workplace Is Crucial Not Just for You but Also for Your Team

Let me tell you how I struggled with it and eventually learned my lessons

Abhimanyu Bhargava
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Buro Millennial on Pexels

Before quitting my full-time job for a better life, I worked in the analytics & AI industry for almost a decade.

The work was challenging, innovative, and fun. The experience allowed me to expand my horizons and get to where I am today.

One such opportunity was moving overseas to Australia for work.

The Struggle of Two Countries

After moving overseas, I was still working with my team in India, providing consulting services to clients in Australia.

The Australian time zone is 4–5 hours ahead of India. So, work days often extended beyond 9–5.

Every day I would get to the office around 8 AM, work the usual hours, and keep having phone conversations with the India team until midnight.

  • I would take calls while in the gym.
  • Work on my laptop during dinner while constantly on calls.
  • And often, I would answer calls right when I was about to hit the bed.

--

--

Abhimanyu Bhargava
ILLUMINATION

I write about health, fitness, self-improvement, life lessons, nutrition, careers, Crypto and NFTs. Here to empower you! https://linktr.ee/abhimanyubhargava