Drawing Mandalas

Day #25: 100 Happy Days

Purvee Chauhan
ILLUMINATION

--

Credits: Author’s own image

A mandala means ‘circle’ or ‘completion’ or ‘wholeness’. Drawing a mandala has been identified as a common art tool to aid meditation, healing, and stress relief. Mandalas have a deeper significance as they represent an integrated view of the world. They are everywhere, say, in the form of the solar system or a human body cell or a flower [1].

I am an art amateur and love trying different art forms. I first learnt about mandalas ten years ago and have been engaging in either drawing or coloring them intermittently. Although I am irregular at it, it is one of the art forms I truly enjoy, and I did so today as well.

Before drawing mandalas, I often feel I am not good enough or do not know what to draw or feel uninspired. But when I get started and am in the process of drawing, I feel present, calm, creative, and involved. Post a work day, mandalas help me become deeply reflective of how the day went and also helps generate innovative ideas about life. After I am done, I feel relaxed, worthy, creative, positive, and uplifted. Some days I judge my own art (and that is not the best for me), so I am trying to be more aware of being kind on myself. Mandalas are often a representation of how I am feeling, but no judgements of our feelings as well, you see. It is good to just flow. And, it is so important to focus on the process of

--

--

Purvee Chauhan
ILLUMINATION

It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye. ~ The Little Prince