Embracing Freedom

The Allure of Living Off the Grid

Soupstik
ILLUMINATION
3 min readMay 23, 2023

--

Photo by Jason Hogan on Unsplash

Yes! I have achieved my freedom, finally!!

For the past 2 months, I have lived at a place, completely free from Outlook mails, Chime notifications, team meetings, no deadlines and no financial burdens.

I have utilized my vacation days all at once. But, after coming back home from being off the grid, my perspective towards life, towards problems and towards complaining, have completely changed.

I have seen people hiking 3 miles (4.83 kilometers) uphill, just to sell packets of chips and chocolates, so that they can make Rs 100 ($1.2) a day. I have seen people travelling 160 miles a day (80 miles to and fro), when the outside temperature is 45–46°Celsius, to stay with their families and avoiding rents in a new city. The tiredness on their faces are beyond imagination. I have seen ladies walking miles, in the Thar Desert, to get consumable water for their families.

But also I have seen happiness on their faces. They have 0 complains towards life.

Whereas, some of us complain about getting more likes on our Instagram posts, not being upgrade to the latest iPhones, not getting that promotion bla, bla, bla!!!

What’s the one thing that they have?? That, we don’t, even if we are working 10+ hours a day and earning well enough to have everything?

FREEDOM.

But how did I achieve the same?

Here’s how being off the grid has helped me to get back my freedom.

  1. Living off the grid offered me a chance to rediscover self-sufficiency in its purest form.

As a hobbyist photographer, I have been able to capture some of the best clicks, I have ever taken, during this time. From beautiful mountains, to capturing the daily lives of people, to amazing beach sunsets, all of them.

2. Living off the grid provided me, an unparalleled opportunity to immerse in the natural world. The serenity of untouched landscapes, hear the songs of birds, and witness the breathtaking beauty of sunrises and sunsets, has given me the feeling of satisfaction.

3. Living off the grid often required downsizing and simplifying my lifestyle. With limited resources and space, I learned to prioritize and appreciate what truly matters. There were almost 0 material possessions (I only had a basic cellphone to keep my parents updated), I gained tons of experiences, relationships, and personal growth.

Trust me, the minimalist approach leads to a sense of freedom and clarity, unburdened by the pressures of consumerism.

The remarkable display of determination and resilience showcases the incredible lengths individuals are willing to go to provide for themselves and their families, even in the face of challenging circumstances, has absolutely left me spellbound and numb to complaining. It served me as a poignant reminder of the unwavering human spirit and the power of perseverance in pursuit of a better life.

* You can contact me about how to get such a long vacation 😉😉*

Thank you for reading!!

--

--